Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

The Oldest Chipper in Dublin

I was later than intended getting over to Carl's. I brought along some goodies left over from last Sunday;s Britten Bonanza get-together. As usual when I'm having people in, I had too much stuff ready. If it had gone into my fridge it would have ended up being thrown out, so I brought it over to where I knew it would get a good home.

After a few nibblies and freshly squeezed fruit juice and a bit of a chat, we headed for the Merrion Inn which had recently re-opened after being closed for a year and half after being destroyed by fire. We asked for the lunch menu (the famous carvery is no longer available). Carl had deep fried bree for starter while I had soup. I had hake for main course while Carl had what should have been a half chicken but had been reduced to less than half because of feedback. The food was adequate. Not great, but okay.

Time has been rushing on, so there was no time to stick the original plan which was to go back to Carl's Kino to watch The Bridesmaids. Instead, we had a couple more drinks and I got a taxi in to town. I'd never been to Werburgh Street Chirch before, but that's where the carol concert by the Dublin Gay Men's Choir was on and where I'd meet Chew & Chat Tom . We know two of the guys in the choir, we'd been impressed last year by their December concert, and we were anxious to support a good cause. It was terrific night, with the choir performing really well under their new musical director and bringing a nice balance of laughter and tears into a nicely balanced programme. Hugely exciting.

When I asked where the venue was people tended to describe the location as being 'across the road from Burdocks chipper'. Burdocks is the oldest chipper in Dublin, famous for its use of lard for frying of their chips. I don't know if they still roll the fish and chips in sheets of newspaper, and I didn't get to find out tonight. I'be never managed to sample Burdicks fare since they tend to be either closed or have really long queues outside any time I'v passed by. One of these maybe. In the mean time I did manage to blip it.

Sunday bus timetables meant I had to wait an awfully long time to get a bus home from town. I did eventually. I wasn't sorry to get home, helped along by the memory of the lovely singing from the DGMC. A good day, and I felt so, so good having the weight of the magazine off my shoulders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.