Journey Through Time

By Sue

Frozen Wetlands and A Hug

A rare black and white image today. I took auntie to the dentist and we ended up with a bit of lunch. On the way home, I stopped at the place where I have gotten a picture of Mt. Hood in the past. Today, the mountain was barely visible in the distant mists but I was more interested in the ice covered wetlands. This was the choice for the day, which I nearly didn't post, but decided...what the heck.

I had the sweetest encounter today with a little girl. One of our errands was to go to the hospital as Joan was to have her blood taken for testing as her iron is low again. While I was waiting for her we could all hear a child crying and it was heartbreaking to know that this poor thing was having something done and was not a bit happy about it. Then my aunt came out and when I looked up, there was this little girl and her mom standing right near me. This little girl had a tear on her cheek and a very unhappy look on her face. I looked at her and said, "Oh, were you the one crying?" She nodded her head and her mother agreed. I said, "I am so sorry. I think you need a hug." When I said this, I was thinking that she needed a hug from her mom. But her mom and the little girl took it to mean a hug from ME! The mom said, "would you like her to hug you?" The little girl, about age 4-5, walked to me and put out her arms and I sat there with my arms around her and we hugged for a bit and I nearly cried, I gotta tell you. I thanked her for the hug and hoped she would feel better and told them I was available if they needed another grandma. That was the sweetest moment for me. I sure hope the little girl recovered from her ordeal and whatever is wrong with her isn't anything serious.

Take care

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.