WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

That planet feeling

It happened again today.

On waking up, the sun was shining. 30-minutes later, there was fog. I wondered if I could recreate some of the beautiful river shots I've seen on Blip but the pull of the moor was too great - another time. The forecast was for sun at lunchtime. I was way to early but thought it might start breaking up if I was lucky.

As I made my way up the moor with the dog, I spotted a little hint of blue sky. I watched the fingers of mist retract slowly down the valley. I was in two minds which direction to walk in but hoped I might see the fog clinging on to the edge of the rocky outcrops so I headed west. I was in luck.

But it was better than that. As I walked towards the edge of a small drop off with the sun behind me, I spotted our shadows appearing in the mist. While I stood watching, a rainbow appeared encircling our misty outline. The mist crept back further and the brightness intensified. A brocken spectre.

I smiled and smiled for an hour and a half as I felt the planet beneath my feet.

Better large I think.

"Legend has that the name came from the Brocken, the highest peak of the Northern German Harz Mountains. Once a climber was startled by the sudden appearance in the nearby mist of a human figure with a ring of light around its head. Frightened, the climber fell to his death, killed by his own shadow that he saw and the ring of light was his own glory ring."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.