Transitoire

By Transitoire

Minitour Shenanigans

I think this possibly sums up the first evening of our time in Bristol. So, this is Vicky (Big Band function singer) and Mike (President of the Big Band, bass guitar and drums) dressed up for the evening out. The evening’s theme was “Charity Shop Social”, and you had to buy your entire outfit for £10, Vicky has gone classy but as you can see…Mike did not. Sexy nurse is possibly not a good outfit for a man.

So the day started quite well, bar the fact I got asked for ID at Tescos when I was buying a two litre box of white wine for Vicky and I to share. Upon asking the woman whether Clare, who had her ID, could buy it for me…she said no, because we had asked. I know I should have had my ID on me, but I was literally running out to get said box of wine and that was it. Cue us giving said box of wine to the cashier, then going and getting another box, and Clare going on her own to another till, buying the wine with my money, and then giving it to me on our way out. Oh dear. I didn’t think that I looked under eighteen…

Oh, and the bus that was coming to take the Big Band to Bristol was an hour late. But that was fine, Vicky and I cracked open the wine (well, what else do you do when you are waiting in the cold!), and the bus did arrive quite soon afterwards. One of our freshers came up with the best line of the tour, as our social secretary asked him to slow down his drinking, as if the fresher was too drunk he would have to look after him…this fresher had only had one glass of wine so far. Upon hearing this, the fresher turned round and said “You, look after me? You can barely look after yourself!” Cue howls of laughter from the older members of Big Band.

However, the bus journey went without any problems (unlike one of our previous minitours that I had organised with Amy…the bus set on fire on the M6 North) and we were soon in Bristol. We had just enough time to get changed in our not so classy outfits and head out for the meal. As soon as we had finished we hit a few bars and clubs of Bristol, with no one getting in until past four. A good evening had by all I would say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.