Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Sound Pt. 2 - Mechanical siren

As part of the ongoing photo challenge on the topic of "sound", I decided to continue upon the theme of public service. This morning, I found myself at a fire station looking for chrome sirens to photograph. I was careful to ask permission given the concerns that my UK friends had expressed over my last police car blip.

As I approached the fire engines, I was approached by a very friendly fire fighter. He was a very nice person and when I told him about the challenge he was full of suggestions on what I should photograph. We then got into a random discussion about fire departments and towns. This was a successful blip trip not just because I captured this shot and this one, but also because I met this fire fighter. Life is too short to be for people to be unfriendly and distant and yet many people are. This gentlemen was a refreshing reminder of the importance of being a nice person.

If you are wondering where this was mounted and what it sounds like check out this youtube video. This siren is the second one played in the video. You can see the siren mounted on the fire truck's bumper in the video and the one I blipped looked exactly the same and was mounted on the same spot.

Finally, if I could change one thing about this shot, I would have upped the aperture to increase the DoF and bring the shield in the background into better focus. Unfortunately, given the circumstances, I did not want to bring my tripod and so did the best I could hand held.


Post processing:
None, straight from the camera

Constructive criticism always welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.