Gazebo in the Snow

This is about as early in the season as I can recall it looking as wintry as this where I live. It's early December, and the wintriest of weather usually hits us in central Pennsylvania long about January or February. But not this year!

The latest winter storm arrived over the weekend, bringing a few inches of snow, followed by a layer of ice that made the snow so shiny it dazzles the eyes! And we were then plunged into a deep freeze that ensured that it would last a while.

I found myself on campus on Tuesday morning, headed for a meeting downtown. But I arrived early enough to spend a few minutes with my camera, taking in this winter wonderland.

To my delight, I found the gazebo by the duck pond wrapped in new green garlands and red velvet ribbons. A land of winter magic - cold but beautiful - and I wouldn't be surprised to see the Snow Queen appear!

The song: Queen, White Queen, live at the Hammersmith Odeon, 1975.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.