Peace

There are many things in this world that are beautiful to me. For one, I like a good straight line. It lets me dream that my world is an orderly place, and that things - even the confusing things - will all someday make sense. That maybe it is just a matter of perspective. A bigger view, if I could look down on us all from above the clouds, would reveal a precious, perfect, orderly world down below. The thought quiets my mind, like soft footsteps on new snow. Straight lines for peace. (You heard it here first, folks.)

Now, that is not always the case in reality. Things tend to have those jagged edges. They resist order. But once in a while, you come across something that gives you hope. On this morning, I stopped by a Spring Creek spillway that I like, and the lines and reflections caught my eye. Order was everywhere. It was in the boards. It was on the water. The world was contained by simple lines. Even chaos could not resist its urge. Instead, it dissolved into peace . . . and shimmered away like light on the surface of the cool, clear waters.

The soundtrack: John Lennon, Give Peace a Chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.