Salisbury Cathedral over the Watermeadows

At 11pm, after my Blip of yesterday, the foggy bridge, reached the top slot of the Spotlights - huge thanks to ALL for getting it there, making it my 4th most popular blip - I saw that the forecast was for a clear night, until about 1a.m. From then it would be cloudy, for several days.

That gave me a chance to walk down to get this - they turn the Cathedral's floodlighting off just after midnight, so I had to be ready and waiting at the stroke of twelve.

I had to expose for the relatively bright floodlight and not the surrounding area so it was much shorter than I would usually expose a starry night sky for. It would have been disaster to let the cathedral burn out and I don't do HDR or anything like that. Therefore, the rest, especially the deep dark shadows had to be extracted from the RAW original and largely, it has done this well enough.

Looks good in LARGE too.

The city's streetlight glow gives the warmth in the sky. Lens is Nikkor G 24mm -120mm f3.5-5.6 VR

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.