Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Look wok I got

I have been promising myself a new gas ring and wok since I had to give up my kitchen 4 months ago. It was a bit over budget to what I had planned, well, more than double actually. I had to stand next to it in the shop, to get used to how big it was. The box called it an industrial gas ring, more like an industrial smelting plant.

Once acclimatized, I hauled it over to the check-out and amused myself while the girl struggled to get it into a bag, eventually giving up. She looked up at me in dismay, I just rocked my head ever so slightly and she then tackled the wok. This was even funnier and I had to cover my face to hide the snigger at one stage. Once again she looked up to see a slight shake of the head.

The girls at the Kampung saw me coming a mile off with this and very soon a crowd gathered to admire the sheer audacity to buy such a big wok and gas ring. Indeed, probably slightly more than I actually needed to cook my packet of noodles in and brew up a cup of coffee, but I do occasionally cook up large batches of sambal and the like.

Sure it is outrageously extravagant, but sometimes you just want one.

Ladies – never let a man go shopping for your kitchen implements, especially if he has your purse with him.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.