Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Dave’s Deli

Just in case you thought that I was starving myself on this diet, I thought I would invite you all into my kitchen for dinner. On today’s menu is Baby Squid Stirfry. I know, there is a lot of food in there, but I will probably only use half the cabbage.

Ingredients:

baby squid, bilis (a dried salty sandeel fish thing), tempe (a soya with nuts thing), potato, a root (looks like turnip, but who knows), peppers, chili, garlic and white cabbage.

Prepartion:

Gut and thoroughly clean the squid (very dirty and smelly job).
slice tempe.
Scrub, halve, par-boil and thick slice the roots.
Rough chop and blanche the cabbage.
De-seed and slice the peppers.
Fine chop the chili.
Chunk chop the garlic.

Method:

Dry fry the squid to drive off the residue water, before adding soya oil. Add the bilis and the garlic and fry. This extracts all the flavors into the oil. Set to one side.

Fry the roots and the tempe.

Drain the oil, add all the ingredients together, add a drizzle of olive oil and stirfry. I added some of my favorite sauces to work with the chili and peppers.

Probably enough for four days, but I will do my best.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.