An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Dainty swallowtail

Papilio anactus

I have to say that this photo really does not do this magnificent butterfly justice – it has a wingspan of around 7cm and it's flight is so fluttery and balletic; it's forewings are in constant motion, even when feeding and it often feeds on the wing, rather than landing on a flower. I have seen this butterfly flying around and around parts of my garden, but it never landed before today (not when I was watching anyway). I had a very short time to catch it before it was off again. The larvae feed on citrus trees and apparently this butterfly was not found south of northern New South Wales until the spread of citrus orchards encouraged them to move south.

Also called Dingy Swallowtail or Small Citrus Butterfly.

Also found a bush that seems to attract wasp mimicking bees – hopefully they will still be there another day (if not, I'll put one in my folio).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.