Mikey88

By Mikey88

Bracken Frond

I didn't have a lot of time for actually taking photographs today. I was printing out contact sheets of the children's performance at my wife's school, when I realised that the cartridge I had picked up yesterday was photo-magenta, rather than the plain magenta which I actually needed. This meant another trip into town before I could finish the printing, so off I went.

Having said a couple of days ago how difficult it is to get close enough to the goosanders to get a good photograph, on the way back to the car there was a pair of them on the river just outside the car park! Sadly, I hadn't put the camera in, otherwise you would have had a clear shot of the pair.

Anyway, back home to finish the printing. In the afternoon and evening, I was due to be at school to sell the photographs I had taken yesterday, so I had about an hour to get a picture for my blip. I went for a bracken frond, which has pretty much broken down for the winter. I tried to get it against a piece of matt inkejet paper and used the flash and a reflector to try and eliminate all the shadows. This was the most successful shot, but It really needs a lightbox.

The photos went really well. I haven't counted yet, but I think I sold between eighty and a hundred. Half of the money will go towards the printer cartridges and paper I have bought, and the other half to the PTA of the school. My weekend will now be spent printing pictures, trimming them to size and collating them so that they can go out on Monday. Just as well I'm not charging for my time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.