RACHAEL AND NEIL

Last night my friend Jan phoned to say she was back from her cruise and was going to Asda today.  Even though I had the Sainsbury's delivery yesterday there were still some things I needed so I didn't pass up the chance to go grocery shopping today.  Jan said she would come at 9am but in the end she was delayed waiting for carpet fitters and she arrived at 10am.  By the time we got to Asda the car park was almost full - had to drive around for a bit to find a spot.  Of course the shop was also busy.  Christmas shopping must have started with a vengeance.

After Asda Jan had to go to the old peoples home to pick up her mother in law D - she has Alzheimer's and had been staying there in respite care while Jan and her husband were away.  She lives on her own and Jan was going to take her back home today.  Well that was the plan.  Jan came out alone.  She said  that when the staff had told her mother in law that she was going home she said she didn't want to go - she wanted to stay at the home as she loved it there.  So Jan and her husband will have to decide what to do.  Seems best to leave D at the home but they may not have a permanent place for her there.  And Social Services need to be involved as at the moment they provide care for D in her own home. So a bit of a dilemma - hopefully they will do what's best for D.

Didn't get back home till almost 1pm.  I hadn't had any breakfast so I had a big lunch.  Went online for a bit  and then I went to Newcastle.  Bit of Christmas shopping  and then I met Neil and his girlfriend Rachael.  We went to Zizzi for a meal.  I had chicken salad which was delicious.  Neil had chicken wrapped in prosciutto and Rachael had pizza.

I had intended doing a bit more shopping before coming home but Neil said did I want to go for a drink so that's what I did.  We went to a little bar/restaurant tucked away near the Grainger Market.  There weren't many people in there and no loud music so we were able to chat without having to lip read.  On the wall opposite me was this huge photograph of 4 nude ladies.  Very eye- catching.

Rachael and I exchanged Christmas cards and gifts.  She travels home to Ireland on Tuesday for the Christmas holidays.  Neil then went back to Rachaels and I came home - got here about 9.30pm.

The weather today was surprisingly mild.  I was overdressed in my warm coat

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.