Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The reluctant shopper

No sore arms from the jabs yesterday - must have been that half bottle of wine (each)!

S came round for coffee and told me about some pills for sore knees that I had just read about, so I’ve got a 6 month supply to see if they make any difference. Certainly the positive comments on the website sound wonderful, but who knows… S knows people who have taken them and had an improvement in mobility and pain relief. But you should see the size of them. Even more humungous than the whopping pink ones that I’ve stopped taking now. Blood test next week to see if the pink wonders had any anti-inflammatory effect. They certainly helped for the first couple of weeks and then it was back to normal.

Funny how when you get old and acquire aches and pains, the pharmacy department in Boots is fascinating! Got some mosquito stuff and a few other necessities. I think we’re all organised in that department. Got the malaria pills (£150!).

I need some loose fitting, long sleeved shirts/teeshirts for the safari.

I’m not a good shopper. And to choose the worst day of the year - the Saturday before Christmas - was madness. But imperative.

We went into a certain cheap shop (which does not play muzak, thankfully) and in my state of stress to get out quickly, grabbed three tops which are going back on Monday. Totally awful and inappropriate. We went to another shop, where I did manage to get three roomy long sleeved shirts. Though not exactly roomy in the upper arm department. I do wish they would cater for the section of the public who have flabby upper arms!

It was so windy and crowded, I did not stay in town or wander round looking for a blip. We came home. I had thought I might go down again later when it gets darker, but it’s turned sort of mizzly now. So an indoor blip is called for. Again.

Might start packing. This time next week we’ll be there!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.