Brotographer

By Brotographer

Barnacle factory

I've been high from the smells of silicone and resin for the last two weeks... Thanks to our BDR project and the chemistry lab Mahfood is running in my room for it... Everyone says this looks like some Breaking Bad scene. I wouldn't know.

--

Early meet up with the sustainability bros to get our presentation sorted out. Our concept if I haven’t mentioned it before is to harness ocean energy from surface currents using the propeller of a boat as a turbine, while it’s anchored. It would allow us to cover about 7% of the electrical needs of cargo boats while they are stationary outside of harbors. As such, this equates to approximately 300,000 barrels of oil saved per year, assuming 400 boats with such systems are at any one time anchored outside of three harbors. Legit concept with a couple flaws, but I think we managed to present it successfully. We didn’t get ripped apart by Colin and Stuart either, so I’m looking forward to the feedback!

After that, I headed to the darkroom to slice photos for the upcoming exhibition, which looks like it's gonna be good! Then I was meant to work the rest of the day but Beckie texted suggesting lunch. Couldn’t say no to that. Sam joined us as well later. Finally I got to work after, on studying the aerodynamics of gliding snakes. Pimp stuff and a very interesting project, for once!

peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.