The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Morning flight

The view across the Test Estuary to the Prince Charles Container Port just before dawn. A time of transient light and ephemeral mist. Within minutes the mist had gone, and in half an hour the sky was blanketed grey, and a fine drizzle had started.

I set off on the long drive home before 10 am, and managed to run ahead of the forecast winds and heavy rain. By the time I arrived home after 4 pm, my hopes of an Arnside sunset had been snuffed out by the arriving cloud. It was wonderful to see Gus and Wifie again after a few days away, and I have missed my Gus walks over the Knott.

It was a busy few days helping out with Dad's paperwork, tax returns and jobs around the house. The old flyer was under the weather with a bad cold, and though he appreciated a couple of good meals, he ended up with painful indigestion on two evenings. We should be seeing him again over the Christmas period, but I do wish he was a bit nearer so that we could help out more.

The photographs of the last few days were a bit uninspired, so I probably won't bother back-blipping them. I am grateful though that people have been dropping by and leaving comments when I have been away, I'm sorry that I have been a poor subscriber, but I have had to focus elsewhere this last few days.

It was exactly a year ago today that I first met Gus, who would have imagined just how much joy he would bring us this year?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.