LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

George...

In George Street!

I wandered home from work after foregoing the pub, I figured that wine was probably a bad idea after yesterday so I did the sensible thing and came home.

I saw George and bought a Big Issue and bribed him for a photo decided to brave it MrJohn style and ask if I could take his photo. Needless to say my settings were all wrong so this is the better of two pretty badly lit shots. As I was chatting to him another man stopped and asked if I was from the newspaper then wandered off when I said no. Weird. George said he was doing okay and was looking forward to Christmas. He assured me that his regular customers looked after him and he had his bottle of buckie in his bag for later so he'd stay warm.

There are moments when we should all remember how lucky we are to have food, a home, warmth and people who love us. Talking to George made me think of how lucky I am to be coming home to my cosy flat to bake cakes for an evening with friends tomorrow. In the grand scheme of things I don't have any problems when lots of people do and at this time of year it must be very apparent to those worse off than I. My life may not always be perfect but there are plenty of times when it's pretty bloody close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.