Chase The Sunset

I hate to blow my own trumpet but I am incredibly happy with this shot. Really absolutely chuffed. I carried a bottle of Chase vodka all the way from the Midlands to Val Thorens and back just to get this shot and I think I pulled it off. Absolutely over the moon.

The colours. Thanks very much, nature. I couldn't have done a better job myself.

The composition. Axel's pose is spot on. He nailed it himself.

The details in the shadows, the ski lift. The empty piste. The implied outline of the skis.

I've been reading a lot of Ken Rockwell articles recently (I know he's very polarising, but personally I find him inspiring and motivating) and in one article he was berating photographers for not understanding the basic principles of light, dark and composition. It's this that I've been really trying to focus on, recently (when I've not bee GoPro'ing everything) and I think it's come together in this shot.

Today was a great day of skiing. Lots of advanced slopes and nailing it. I feel more confident on a board, for sure.

We went to La Follie Douce for apres today instead of our usual haunt at Bar 360. It was great; a real experience for sure although being so crowded, I couldn't help but want to go and throw down at 360. Different strokes for different folks.

Peace

----------------

I think I've given myself enough of an ego boost about this shot, already. I like it. I know I can produce shots like this. I would like to reproduce this kind of thing more consistently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.