Have Yourself a Merry Little . . . Um . . .

I took a quick walk through the woods around our house on this morning after the storm, and every single tree and branch was covered in snow. A couple of sets of deer tracks in the snow told me I wasn't the first to walk through the otherwise unbroken snow.

The tiniest trees in particular seemed weighed down by the snow. This little fellow is one of the Norway spruces I planted in 2005 or thereabouts. I planted about a hundred of them throughout the property after an ice storm brought a bunch of my existing trees down shortly after I bought the house. It was an attempt on my behalf to restore good tree karma.

On this particular snowy morning, I took this photo, then stopped and carefully brushed all the snow off the little tree. It quickly sprung up straight, and stood tall (well, as tall as a tiny tree can manage, that is). I gently cleared the snow off all the little trees in that area, then went back inside into the warm.

The song: Vince Guaraldi Trio, O Tannenbaum, from one of my very favorite Christmas specials, A Charlie Brown's Christmas.

P.S. I'm playing catch-up today by posting two Blips. Please check out the prior one as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.