Dancersend

By Dancersend

Burnt ground fungus

I had a very wet walk through fields around the village and there was little to brighten up the surroundings other than berries and rose hips, but I've taken lots of photos and blipped these recently. As I turned for home with no photo taken, I spotted these bright orange discs poking out of some disturbed soil. It was on one of the sites where there were bonfires earlier this year after the hedge was re-laid and, although it was tiny, I knew before I crouched down to kneel in the soaking grass that it was probably Anthracobia macrocystis, a small ascomycete fungus that appears on old bonfire sites. Once I got closer, I could see lots of little orange speckles in the soil nearby so I think there will be a much more impressive swarm in a few days time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.