Georgian Pleasures

One of the aspects I enjoy most about living in Edinburgh is the fine Georgian architecture. Many moons ago I used to be a student of Hanoverian history. I fell deeply in love with all things 18th century and that love has stayed with me even though I left the world of academia behind.

Also, I grew up in Western Canada, a place only relatively recently inhabited by Europeans. My home city was founded in 1905 - that's nearly the equivalent of a new town here. Try to imagine yourself in the harsh, inhospitable winters of Canada with little by way of train tracks - people focused on survival rather than building pretty round rooms out of stone just because it pleased them. The building in this photo delights me every time I see it.

I think I simply have to visit the Georgians Revealed exhibition at the BL in London in the New Year. It's good to have things to look forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.