Who knew...

...deer like bird seed? And they must have great noses! This handsome buck plodded down the trail heading unerringly for the bench where somebody had poured out a large quantity of bird seed. He was so goal-oriented, I could almost hear the thoughts that were going through his head: Oh look, there's peanuts ... and sunflower seeds too! Why not just lick those right up. They smell s-o-o-o good! What's that you say? Splinters? What about splinters? In my tongue?Oh, foo! My tongue's like sandpaper. I'll risk a few splinters if it means I get to eat those scrumptious treats. They're mine...ALL mine! And they very quickly became just that, All his, despite the five other deer and numerous birds that had their eyes on the treat. And then, tasty snack devoured, he followed me back to my car! I'm sure he knew I had more peanuts in my pocket.

If you want to check out the rest of the action, look here. And in case you are wondering about the "sandpaper," it's true. Last winter a deer licked my hand while hastily licking up some seeds I was putting down for the birds. He had a very rough tongue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.