My Angle

By myangle

Lone Mangrove

After visiting my Father-in-Law this morning I decided to take a cruise along the Birkdale waterfront, something I haven't done for quite a while. I was lured out onto the mudflats by a expensive looking catamaran moored in the mangroves. Expensive looking but in dire need of repairs. Someone obviously can't bring themselves to part with it and yet can't afford to fix it.

I was then attracted to this lone mangrove which had bravely taken up residence further out on the mudflats than all the other mangroves. This photo is the result. Well, that and muddy feet. It doesn't pay to stray out on the mangroves wearing flip flops I can tell you.

What started out as colour ended up as a tinted black and white. I prefer the starkness. It was around midday and the light was very harsh anyway. Not the best for photography.

My visit to Dad was something of a waste of time. He had been in an aggressive mood and had been sedated to calm him down. Apparently it isn't common but I know what it is like when he gets moody. He can be very single minded. I couldn't rowse him. He was very dopey. The nurse who administered the sedation got a bit defensive when I mentioned that I couldn't wake him up. Hmmm. Mildly irritating but I let it slip this time.

On my way home I popped into the local butcher and bought some of their stir fry mix. That sorted my lunch and dinner for today.

I am still sleeping an enormous amount. Unusual for me. Maybe it is some of the medication I am taking. I only got up at 9.30 this morning and managed to have a 3 hour power nap this afternoon. Perhaps I am still on the mend. I am still aiming to go back to work on Wednesday although it is going to take some organisation with the community nurses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.