Head for Heights

Years ago my job sometimes required me to have a bit of a head for heights, and occasionally go up and down vertical ladders on the side of structures. I would have been very unhappy about having to ascend the near vertical ladder on the side of the spire of Queen's Cross Church. I would have been even less happy about working on the planks and scaffolding at the top of the tower. I am not sure how it looks close up, but from ground level it looks pretty dodgy.

Since there are safety regulations which apply to such work no doubt it complies therewith, so I guess it must be OK. Maybe the workmen are safer than I was when I was working at height, I didn't have a safety harness, which I imagine these guys will have. Appearances must be deceptive. This work has been going on for several weeks now at the Church. No idea what they are doing.

Unremitting cloud today and felt quite cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.