stujphoto

By stujphoto

Shadow Play

One of the remarkable phenomena of this time of the year especially in these northern climes is just how low the sun is in the sky throughout the day.

I first noticed this when I moved to Ediburgh in the winter months of 1975 and would be driving home westwards in the late afternoon. The sun was so dazzling and blinding it was difficult to drive.

I noticed it again this morning when we moved right to the other side of the cafe away from the windows to avoid the glare of the sun when having coffee with our neighbours this morning after the dog walk.

My blip today was taken literally just as the last rays of the sun were streaming into a tiny patch of our living room lighting up the edge of the mantelpiece and casting deep crisp shadows . The shadows they cast caught my eye and made me realise that perhaps there was a picture opportunity here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.