Penguin Droppings

By gen2

White-Tailed Sea Eagle

White-tailed Eagle or Sea Eagle at Lochgelly Loch

An exciting end to the day.

I ventured out this afternoon looking for Blip-opportunities but didn't find very much until . . .

On the way back, I passed Lochgelly Loch. To my left, I noticed a van pulled in at a field entrance and the word 'Raptor' caught my eye. I glanced to the right, and half way across a field were two people, one with a large bird of prey on his arm. Of course, I pulled in at the next field entrance and ran back with my camera. I ended up with over 30 images, but not of the best quality, because the sun was already below the horizon.

Yes, it is a captive bird, but in the interests of pictorial composition, I have cloned out the jesses.

The eagle is probably a female called 'Orla' who recently appeared on BBC Winterwatch. I am waiting for confirmation from LLBOPC.

[EDIT]
I have had a reply from Loch Lomond Bird-of-Prey Centre and can reveal that the bird is in fact 'Marra', a White-tailed Sea Eagle belonging to Elite Falconry, Fife

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.