Atlas

I'm starting to go crazy with looking at Roman cremations.
Lately, I have been getting quite a few of them, and I can't complain, really; for one thing, it's work, which has been rare enough, for another thing, they tend to be quite compact jobs... a day or two of analysis and write-up and they can be quite interesting.
The trouble is that it's fiddly and the bone will tend to have fragmented quite randomly. There's no context. I know that I have seen the skeletal part before, but it is shrunken and warped and distorted by the fire, and it isn't attached to the rest of the skeleton.

I often look at bone atlases, but they don't really help.

Pay particular attention to the wee hamulus on the end of the right medial pterygoid plate of the sphenoid... there'll be an exam, later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.