Christmas Today!

Every year, one of my favorite holiday traditions is adding our gifts to the others donated by individuals, families, congregations, and community organizations to Interfaith Coalition's annual Holiday Gifts Program for homeless families.

I couldn't resist showing my friend C, above, who was helping sort the donated gifts, one of the cuddly fleece elephants that were among our donations. (Here's a closer look at three of them.) I'd purchased these delightful pachyderms from Pat, one of my favorite Bellingham Farmers Market vendors, who makes a variety of simple soft toys, children's teepees, unique bird feeders from recycled dishes, succulent plants potted in everything from old teapots to children's tiny rain boots, and much more, as well as selling fresh eggs from "her girls," a mixed flock of chickens.

There was a warm woman's parka in our box of gifts, as well -- I'd bought it last year but not worn it, as we had a mild winter, so now it will go to someone who really needs it, thanks to the generosity of Phil's daughter E and her family, who gave me a lovely down jacket at our early Christmas celebration last weekend.

The children's books in the foreground of the photo, and more not shown here, were donated by Village Books, which does so much for this community. I'll go there later this week to pick out children's books for their Giving Tree, and will take with me the list of books that our grandchildren recommended when we saw them on Sunday. It was a huge help to me to get their input, as I don't stay abreast of current children's literature, but they certainly do!

(Note: This is just one tiny area of a large church basement where the gifts are collected.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.