rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

The Leam Falls

I think I got the sky to behave at last. It's probably just a fluke.

I like the view from this bridge. I especially like that weird acorn sculpture carved from a dead tree. There's around four such sculptures throughout the park. They sprung up after a 160-year-old copper beech was felled in March. The tree was dying of a fungal infection. The largest remaining part of its trunk now has an engraving depicting events of Leamington's past each of which – and this is the clever part – is positioned at the ring of the tree which was the tree's outer ring at the time of the event.

If you're into that sort of thing, there's information about the gardens on the Warwick District Council website. If you're not into that sort of thing, the information is there nonetheless.

Back to today: I met up with Pav Ray whom I hadn't seen in ages. We had a nice catchup and then wandered through the town a bit, during which time I took this photograph. I actually took a dozen at this bridge with varying settings on the camera. Eventually underexposed seemed the best way to capture the sky and by playing around with it later, I reckon the grass is just as green as it is in person.

This stands to be my last Leamington Spa blip for a few weeks, but perhaps I'll get a goodbye shot before my train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.