rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

Freight Train

I finally left Leamington Spa for what we call Christmas. I call it a disease and I'd like everyone to stop being so damned ignorant of the damaging effect of the pressure people lay on one another at this time of year.

Anyway, here's a freight train! Ever wondered how towns without rivers get so big? Freight trains! There are huge depots in Birmingham, but it has no port. Good old Stephenson's railways and blurry freight trains help Birmingham exist by linking it to London and Liverpool by a wicked cool chemin de fer.

Here we also have some people. They're awaiting a train to take them away from the strange man with the camera. I wonder where they're going and why. I always wonder that of people at train stations. If I were a bit more Holmes I might know.

I like the sign with the arrows and the platform numbers. It's functional. It's a simple design and communicates its information readily. I like signs. I like maps even more. I'll snap a map over the next few weeks, I promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.