Spotty Moon

I decided that I should try and learn a bit more about 'spot metering' - it's been there on my camera display for over two years now and I thought it was about time we got acquainted.

I'm not comfortable with thinking of photography in purely technical terms. I understand it, the exposure triangle and the rule of thirds and so on, and it's all really important, simply because it works, but it's got to be balanced with a bit of soul for want of a better term...

I'd never reject a photo of mine for blip if it didn't fit the 'rules', or had a bit of dodgy lens flare or whatever. If I liked the photo, I'd publish it and take anything that comes my way on the chin.

But anyway I did decide that during lean times, I might 'mess about' with my camera and try and pick up a bit more knowledge.

So this moon has been 'spot metered'! This means the camera concentrates on the middle bit (the bright moon), rather than the whole night scene (which is 90% dark), and takes the photo based on what's in the middle rather then the overall scene. That was a rubbish explanation I know. Use the bloody internet if you want to know more - it's what it's there for!!!

And the reason the moon isn't in the middle is because I cropped it :o)

I'm still a day behind - this is Tuesday's blip so if you look out of the sky tonight expecting to see a nice moon, think again. It's chucking it down out there!!! No idea what I'm going to blip tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.