The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Wet is Wet

Closing time at Cheltenham's German Christmas market. I miss my former aromatherapy tutor: we exchanged massages in Cheltenham for ten years until she emigrated at Christmas, two years ago. Now I only go to meet Dave, my old mate from the days when I worked at the Prinknash Abbey gift shop.

We had a lovely afternoon, despite the rain. Mainly we shopped, in a circle around the centre of town because of the weather. But we also had a coffee in House of Fraser and a rather posh tea and cakes in a place called Huffkins in the Promenade, which I will deffo visit again when I have time to savour every morsel. I got a red leather watch strap, a silver wreath and Dave's Christmas present. He got an LED snowman decoration, my pressie, and three birthday cards!

School party day was tricky: but then I'm up there with the autists who hate change in routine, or can't quite manage wheelchair races in a crowded hall. It's the first time I've seen my charge, a little autistic boy, in tears. He was crying over the lack of a table for his keyboard. Next year I'll volunteer to do the alternative party for those who can't handle parties! As a kid I could never fathom party games, always came last unless they were quizzes, and no one likes a clever clogs!

Now at home watching the Great Train Robbery. A gigantic hailstorm just wiped out the satellite signal, but it returned. My Christmas cards have arrived from the printers, so I have no excuse now for not writing any! Boo! PS I did not even think of going in to L'Occitane. That's twice in a row I've been to Cheltenham and not bought anything there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.