SMaxwell

By SMax

Berlin at Christmas

Flew into Berlin Tegel airport this morning to attend the 6th biennial Subsidiarity conference, which was held at the Bundesrat. Berlin is one of my favourite cities and I visited it many times in the late 80s and early 90s, but unfortunately I haven't been here for around 20 years.

After the conference finished I walked to my hotel and checked in before walking to the Brandenburger Tor (Brandenburg Gate) and then onto the Reichstag. The Brandenburg Gate was a former city gate and was re-built in the late 18th century as a neoclassical triumphal arch.

After taking a lot of shots of both the Reichstag and the Brandenburger Tor I walked to a Christmas market, which I had heard about and enjoyed some bratwurst while listening to the choir singing a mix of carols and more modern Christmas songs. Not a bad end to a long day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.