Rufous Sided Towhee

It was a slow morning at Spring Lake--cold and quiet. We enjoyed the ducks who appeared to be running along the surface of the water, but with a great whirring of wings. Egrets sat elegant and motionless, looking into the water for fish. When they fly, they glide, creating a beautiful mirror image of themselves on the still water. The ground squirrels had retired from their posts at the entrance to their big holes and were still asleep underground.As we neared civilization and the parking lot again, we spotted this little rufous sided towhee scurrying around on the ground. He had to be my shot for the day when I realized he has a rufous eye as well!

I don't do nearly as much for Christmas as I used to do, but I am not one of these people who shops for next year's gifts at the post Christmas sales! I require last minute motivation.  Obsessed with transforming a bowl of "decor items" into a Christmas display, and trying to make a bow for the wreath, I was on the front porch, when the DHL delivery truck came toiling up the driveway. DHL is an international shipping company and, when it appears at our house at Christmastime, can mean only one thing--a fabulous box of Italian chocolates from my niece and her husband, back home in Saluzzo for the holidays from York. Buon Natale, Annie Davide and Emma!

We braved Oliver's this morning, and found the parking lot completely full, with people trolling around for a space. We parked about a block away, and discussed how we would divide the store between us  as we walked back. Once again, I got the dreaded produce section, but the deli counter, which OilMan took on, wasn't much better. We emerged with everything in good time, but will no doubt have to go back tomorrow for all the items that didn't make the list. for a little party we are having tomorrow night. At least it won't be senior discount day!

Since one of the things we forgot was powdered sugar, my cookie making will have to wait until tomorrow, but I got a head start on the little stuffed peppers and the marinated shrimp, mango and avocado in endive leaves. I've never been able to figure out how the heck you peel off endive leaves so that they make a cunning little boat for the shrimp and mango, but hope springs eternal....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.