Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Waiting For A Psychologist Is Nerve-Wracking

This young man was waiting with his dad and sister to see their psychologist for the first time.

There's no receptionist so it's a bit confusing at first. These folks were no exception...and noticeably nervous. I guess I was the first time I came here, too, so I talked to them softly and explained how the office system worked. I think it helped put the man a little bit more at ease.

Mental health issues are scary and going to see someone for the first time is even scarier. Not knowing what to expect when you enter that room and close that door can make you anxious for weeks as the appointment nears. I found it comforting the very first time I went to counseling to have a kind voice when I entered the office. I like to be that kind voice for others when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.