My Angle

By myangle

The Ocean at Dawn

I got the idea for this from Pics from Zone Flâneur. He was talking about using an ND filter to stop down and get a slow enough exposure. At least I think that was what he wanted to do. Anyway, I was in the ideal location.
This isn't an easy shot. I don't have the luxury of filters, so the window of opportunity is about 15 minutes before there is too much light. Also the contrast between the foreground and the sky was very difficult to balance. I found the best way to shoot was in manual mode at 1 stop under.
On top of all that we had been out the night before, and I was feeling a bit the worse for wear. It was really hard to get up and walk down to the beach while it was still dark. This was my reward though.
8sec, f14, 200ISO, 18-55mm lens @ 18mm, tripod, Canon 350D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.