The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

2013's Xmas Card could mean an Extra Kiltwalker

Today feels as if it should be the start of Christmas as I "downed" the day job tools yesterday and now plan to eat everything in sight until my festive period runs out, which will be 6th January next year. The 6th will also be the date I hide the bathroom scales, as they'll only confirm what my suit waistband screams at me!!

So I've some free time and much to Jan's annoyance, here I am writing a Blipfoto. There could be trouble ahead.

Today’s story centres around Scott, my 17 year old son, who in 2014 will tackle his third Kiltwalk, assuming I pay for him to sign up of course #typicalteenager.

Scott is in his final year at Mearns Castle High School, which is sad on two counts. One, it means all my children will have finished their High School education, so I must be getting really old. It also brings to an end a 13-year association we’ve had with the school, which is also sad. It’s a school that has taken my kids on a journey and they’ve come out the other end having achieved all they could, well nearly all, there’s one who was “a bit too laid back” for my liking.

If I had been fortunate enough to have a similar experience, where the teachers are inclusive, encourage and give their all for their pupils, then perhaps I’d have reached my potential also, but then again . . . .

As part of his Sixth Year, Scott chose not to sit an extra subject, but to do Community work, which means twice a week he helps at the Isobel Mair School and Family Centre in Newton Mearns.

Isobel Mair is a Special Needs School, one of the few left in the Strathclyde area, if not Scotland where the children who attend suffer from mild to severe learning difficulties and disabilities, such as Autism or Downs Syndrome.

Scott, a lad of few words, seems to be getting a lot out of the experience and every now and then, tells you a snippet from one of his visits and as a parent you think,"how lucky am I?" as he tells you about how needy some of them are and how he helps.

Today’s Blipfoto features a picture of the Xmas card Scott was presented with from Class Staffa, which is where he assists and to Scott, being a typical teenage boy, he thought it was quite cool, but said little about it, apart from “can you make sure that doesn’t get crushed”, so he was obviously touched they'd gone to all that trouble.

As I looked at the card he handed over I viewed the cover, which had all the kids from the class on it and then opened it to see a mix of what can only be called scratches and scribbles. These scribbles were the kids signatures and kisses for Scott.

Teary eyed, I carefully put the card on display when I got home. Why the tears? Well they were tears of pride really, as it’s clear from the card and the kisses that Scott, in some small way, is making a difference to their lives and has become “Scott the helper” who they clearly have trust in, and affection for.

Scott has set his sights on a career in Medicine, to simply "help make a difference" and hopefully some of what he has learned during this experience, will stand him in good stead with patients he may treat one day, assuming he’s fortunate enough to get accepted of course.

It would appear Scott is very much his Fathers son, no, not the academic part, The Kiltwalk part, as he has plans in the New Year to introduce the Staff and Parents to The Kiltwalk and suggest they enter a Team in 2014 to raise money for the School and our Charity Partners.

Finally, talking of Xmas Cards I see from Facebook and Twitter that many people have decided not to send cards this year, and instead donate the money they would have spent on cards and postage to Charity, and well done to them.

However, next year can I suggest something different?

Why not buy Xmas Cards from one of our Charity Partners and send those cards to your friends and loved ones?

Why? Well in addition to raising funds for the Charity you select, it gives you the chance to “spread the word” of the Charity you support. You could even write a small note in each card explaining why you support them.

This year and for the fourth year in a row, I’ve sent out TACC Xmas Cards, which I have to say, are pretty cool and my friends, family and colleagues seem to enjoy them. I’m not sure they’ve noticed, however I always ensure my colleagues and friends down South receive the Snowball Xmas Card, as it means the St. Andrews Saltire will be flying high on their mantelpieces over Xmas.

Of course I’m not quite sure they enjoy reading the version of War & Peace I write inside, but tough as I enjoy writing the nonsense that I do.

Go on, give it a try as I'm a firm believer that this year’s Xmas Card receiver, could be next Year’s Kiltwalker, cause I was!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.