Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A young Santa?

Just as I was thinking how lovely the weather has been so far this month, we had a miserable day - raining, damp and certainly not conducive to taking photos outside.

Gavin and I rushed around the village this morning doing some last minute chores. I have to congratulate our local Waitrose on handling the Christmas crowds so well - usually at this time of the year there is a queue two blocks deep to get into the car park, but this morning we just cruised in and found a parking within minutes. All due to the manager who had seven staff (he told us seven was all that was needed) directing traffic around the car park and finding parking spots for the shoppers. When we arrived even the manager was standing in the rain checking on the car park. That is why I support that store, they really try to make a difference.

I then spent the rest of the day editing photos from my portrait shoot yesterday. As I only have two lights it is difficult to achieve the very white high key backgrounds without some help from Photoshop. It has taken ages and I am still not finished, having over 100 photos to edit. I also realised that if I was technically better I would not have caused myself so much post-capture editing work....

Thomas to the rescue for a blip today - I had no time for anything else and he did not mind looking silly with a Christmas hat on, and at this time of year with only 3 days until Christmas I thought I would be forgiven for milking the Christmas theme..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.