Pie Eyed

Remember those sausages and pies that failed to arrive Wednesday via Fedex 2 day shipping because Fedex were "unable to attempt delivery due to a weather delay" despite it being sunny and in the 50s here and the package having been in Hagerstown and on the truck out for delivery since the early hours of Wednesday?

Well they finally arrived yesterday, but not until after I had negotiated a full refund with the supplier as the items were perishable and did not arrive on time. When I opened the box last night the sausages were still very cold so I had no qualms about those, but the pies were room temperature so I wasn't comfortable about them still being edible. I called the supplier back to confirm the package had arrived and to offer to pay for the sausages as they were fine and to ask if they wanted me to return the pies. They said no, so I threw them in the fridge while I debated whether or not to risk it.

Temptation was too great and I baked a pork pie and a beef and onion pie for lunch today. We had one each. They were delicious :)

Oh and FedEx fibbers we have you sussed. We know that if you claim you can't deliver because of weather, as opposed to being overwhelmed or incompetent, you are not required to pay compensation for things that are delivered late. However we have also noticed that everything we have ordered from amazon with free amazon prime 2 day shipping via UPS has arrived within 2 days and sometimes even one. I know who I will go with when given the choice....





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.