IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Solstice fire

I have been intending to light this fire for some time. It has been building up in the middle of the meadow for well over six months, in fact I intended to light it at the summer solstice but it never happened.
It is a wild stormy evening here in north Norfolk and a high wind has blown up. For a while, rain spattered the windows and I was wondering whether the fire would take.
The wind was so wild, it was difficult to get it started. Every time I lit the paper from my waste paper bin, the wind blew it out. When finally I got some paper going, the fire took in a matter of moments and roared off like a rocket. At its height, the flames must have been fifteen to twenty feet in the air.
I took this photo with my point and shoot s95 Canon powershot camera on a slow exposure, over a second. It's about time I bought a tripod!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.