Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Are you seeing double?............

Our daughter and her husband came round to see us and have a snack lunch and a drink to celebrate her getting a new job, which she starts at the end of March.
Her visit was primarily to deliver their Christmas presents and likewise pick up the presents from us to them.
A really nice afternoon with a lot of chat and laughter.

The weather, need I say, was very windy, wet and almost dark at about 2.30pm, so we were all gathered around the kitchen table nattering as one does, I had turned on the lights a little earlier because of the very poor light outside.
We have 4 spotlights in the kitchen with halogen bulbs in and to achieve reasonably even lighting around the room, they are pointed in different directions.

Whilst nattering, I was fiddling with my specs and found purely by accident that when I held them in certain positions, I could achieve light patterns with the reflected light off the actual specs. This, of course, made me think of this blip.

After our Daughter and her husband left to go home, I grabbed a piece of slightly off white paper to get the detail as vivid as possible, hence the result above.
Not easy when you have to adjust the glasses to get the best reflection and hold and take the shot at the same time. Took quite a few but this one is the best.

What you see is the double shadow of the specs and the double reflected light off the lenses of the specs because of the different angles of the spotlights.

It is all light and shadow.

I have done nothing to the shot except the levels and taken a very light crop off the top edge of the shot.

Enjoy.

Peter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.