Teddy Toss

Today was a bit of a hectic, well this afternoon/evening was. The twins figure skating club had their Christmas bash this afternoon, no hard work or coaching just a club session to free skate, have a laugh with their friends and play together with the coaches and it was lovely to see so many smiling faces. As soon as they came off the ice it was a charge to Braehead to see their beloved Clan.

Tonight was a special night in the calender the Teddy Bear Toss. This is an ice hockey tradition with hockey clubs inviting their fans to bring a bear to be thrown onto the ice and collected and donated to local charities to help underprivileged children at what can be a horrifically hard time for so many people. I personally think this is a wonderful tradition and a unique way of helping those less fortunate than many of us.

When we arrived for the match we were quickly asked if we had skates as they needed some helpers to collect the teddies from the ice and so it was. At the end of the game the twins and I and few others for the junior club took to the clan ice and collected the hundreds of bears of all shapes and sizes it was a pleasure to do this and fun to skate in front of a jubilant home support as we have won a grudge match. The fans clapping and singing as the bears were bundled up, I saw friends in the crowd and couldn't resist throwing in a little spin for their enjoyment, a laugh and a round of exaggerated applause as I played up to them. The bears collected we had a quick warm down and the crowds were gone. One of the coaches had swiped my camera and shot a few frames, I asked them to shoot a few of the twins and I on the ice together, so not one of mine but worthy of a blip I thought.

Two hockey Blips in a row, I hope I don't bore you all but I thought it would be nice to share this example of festive good will to those who deserve our help and are all to often forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.