Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

One Thing Led to Another -- contd.

I love going to the ReStore. It's an adventure -- you never know what treasure you'll find -- it might be just what you went looking for, or perhaps something you didn't know you needed until you saw it.

On Friday, I started the beer inventory, carefully replacing bottles in The Beer Fridge as I listed them. It soon became clear that I wasn't going to have enough room for methodical storage, but I didn't want to resort to the old just-sqeeze-em-in technique. Then I discovered a perfect location for beer and wine storage that I had somehow overlooked. All it needed was some shelving.

I looked into commercial shelving, but due to the unique features of this space, nothing was suitable. I had a couple of ideas, and went to the ReStore to look for materials.

There was another item on my shopping list -- a replacement for the missing blade locking wrench (spanner) for my old table saw. I'd been looking for several weeks, and this time I got lucky. Next I looked for a piece of treated (water-resistant) 4x4 lumber, but couldn't find the right size piece. As I walked away, one of the employees walked up to me and asked what I was looking for. He was holding exactly what I wanted in his hands -- the piece in the photo. It had just been donated, and still had snow and ice clinging to it.

I finalized my design this morning, made a complete shopping list, and went back to the ReStore. I'd decided to use the concrete block shelf supports that were popular way back in my early impoverished years. I'd never seen any at the store, and was expecting to have to make a special trip to one of the big box stores for them. After I'd picked out my lumber and paid for it, I casually asked if by any chance they had any of the blocks. I couldn't believe my luck when the answer was "We just had a load dropped off -- they usually sell right away"!

As I frequently remind Cynthia, clean living has its rewards.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.