White World: Snow and Fog

A major 2,000-mile storm system moved across much of the United States on this day, bringing just rain and warmer weather to the region where I live. But it brought snow and ice to some areas, and even tornadoes to some parts of the south.

I was only outside a few minutes on this day: in the morning, I took my camera into our woods to get a few fog shots in the melting snow. This is the path the animals use, especially the deer. The little tree bowed down with snow that I posted a photo of here last Sunday lives along this path, and it is doing well!

My last day of work for the year was Friday, and I don't have to go back till after New Year's Day. My husband and I celebrated by going to see the new Hobbit movie after work Friday. (Which was awesome and fantastic, and now I finally know what I want to be when I grow up: an elf! Second choice: dragon. But first choice: elf!) From there we commenced the long slide into the holidays. The extensive break that I get from work around Christmas is something that I look forward to all year. We try to have some fun and relax during this time, but I also use this time to get some things done around the house.

Between 6 and 7 pm, we heard a loud noise outside, and looked out the front window to see a fire truck and several rescue vehicles stopped on the road outside our house. The lights and sirens were on, and suddenly a Christmas song began blaring out the speakers on top of the fire truck! It was John Lennon's Happy Christmas (War Is Over). As soon as the song was done, they turned off their lights and sirens and went on their merry way. :-)

And so the soundtrack I've chosen for this scene is John Lennon, Happy Christmas (War Is Over). You could say this song choice came to me through a moment of special inspiration . . . :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.