Little Drummer Crittergators: Pa Rumpa Pum Pum!

The strangely warm weather continued, and rain melted almost all of our snow. It was hard to believe it, but I saw it happen myself. The snow was there one day, the next day it was melting and foggy, and then it was mostly gone.

On Sunday afternoon, the rain cleared out, and so my husband and I hiked into our local gameland to enjoy the warmer weather. The big excitement of the day was that I saw a frog! I walked down along the water by one of the big beaver ponds, and saw movement. A frog swam out a few feet, then back to shore, then disappeared before I could photograph it. A Christmas frog? Who knew? How marvelous!

We returned home, where we continued to celebrate Christmas in our own small but festive way. We have a little Christmas tree in the living room bedecked with white lights and red bows. So we turned on the little tree, and the light chased away all the darkness. And then we were well amused by a small band of drummers, festively dressed in red and green (and one or two of them still sporting a bit of powdered sugar), who showed up to entertain us.

And so the sweet words begin again . . .

Come, they told me, Pa-rumpa-pum-pum.
A newborn King to see, Pa-rumpa-pum-pum.
Our finest gifts we bring, Pa-rumpa-pum-pum.
To lay before the King, Pa-rumpa-pum-pum.
Rumpa-pum-pum. Rumpa-pum-pum . . .
So to honor him. Pa-rumpa-pum-pum.
When we come . . .


The song: Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band perform my second-favorite version of The Little Drummer Boy. (My first-favorite version - by David Bowie and Bing Crosby - accompanied this recent blip.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.