Devil's Chimney

Taking pictures between gusts, wobbling even then, as on reaching the top of the hill I was buffeted by the wind screaming over the tops.

Flying round the Cotswolds for those last minute presents and foodie bits, this walk climb was a last minute decision, no idea where it came from, other than that I was passing close by. Forgetting the quite steep slopes up to the disused limestone quarry, it must be 30 years since I was there last, the distance took me by surprise and I was a bit puffed when reaching the top! Not the quick blip I'd anticipated but a good bracing - very bracing, walk. This is a famous landmark; what a view over Cheltenham as the clouds frantically scudded over alternating brilliant sunshine with black deep gloom.

Getting it's name the legend says from being the home of the devil who threw stones at churchgoers from the top of the hill, but had them turned back on himself. Becoming trapped underground the chimney is to free the smoke from his home in hell!!

Made from limestone about 170m years ago it really is a must see visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.