Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Which One is Mine?

Answer: none of them.


From not being even close to being ready I am now almost finished. The Ocado lorry came this morning with only one substitution, which was bacon and so fine. Tomorrow I am going into Saffron Walden with my daughter and granddaughter, a pre-arranged visit to buy anything we had forgotten to order for the lorry to deliver; Nicola forgot the parsnips and I forgot the lemons for the mulled wine; I think we will have breakfast out. Then I finished and sent back all the student’s assessed work this morning; well all of it except one, which was submitted late today. This afternoon I have been wrapping presents; a job I hate.

Until seventeen years ago I liked this job, making neat corners and using ribbons and bows. Then a grandson was born, six days before Christmas, a little scrap who should have arrived in the New Year. I dashed out to John Lewis and spent a small fortune on presents; he would be home on Christmas Eve. However, to cut a long story short, this little boy had major problems. He came home in the middle of January and he was three weeks old before I was able to hold him; he spent many nights in Addenbrookes during the first six months of his life. That year his presents were wrapped rather haphazardly and I have hated this job ever since. As regular readers of my journal will know, this little scrap is now a handsome and strapping lad who has just had his first driving lesson, he is pictured here with his beautiful sister.

Today’s picture shows the wrapped presents, all turned the wrong way round so no labels are showing. They are in bags ready for transporting to my daughter’s home on Christmas day. Note for my daughter, who is bound to look, do not be fooled by the CK bags, they are just spare ones I had handy and do not contain CK items!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.