Pepe at Antigua Casa Guardia

I mentioned the other day I wanted to return to the Antigua Casa Guardia in Malaga. As this was our last morning before flying home it had to be this old tavern.

This atmospheric old tavern dates back to 1840 and is the oldest bar in Málaga. The peeling custard-coloured paintwork, black-and-white photographs of local boy Picasso and elderly bar staff look fittingly antique.

I asked the young barman Rafael what wine he would recommend. As I like dry he suggested the Seco. It really is a great place, full of atmosphere and history. The barrels of wine are huge and they mark your order in chalk on the bar. The Seco cost 1.15 euros a glass. A little seafood stall dishes out prawns and mussels as the perfect accompaniment to a chilled Seco.

While there I took some candid shots of the barmen. I like this shot of Pepe, he looks so comfortable in his role. Rafael told me that Pepe has worked in the tavern for 42 years. I am pleased with the results of the low lighting in the tavern.

What a great place to sample Malaga wines and the perfect end to a fabulous holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.