Bob20

By Bob20

Magpie mine

Before the weather deteriorated, and it pretty awful anyway, I thought I had best get a blip. I didn't go far!

This shot is of part of a disused lead mine, Magpie Mine on the high ground above us here in Derbyshire.

This mine would have been a hive of industry in the 19th & early 20th century. The air would have been filled with fumes and this gear may well have been operated by children at some time in the past.

It is bleak and cold up here, my processing has not exaggerated it at all, but I wanted to give the image some old feel.

Magpie mine is a great place to go, especially when stuck for a blip. I sometimes come up here for night shots, but I rarely stay long:))))

Fingers crossed for a big improvement in the weather VERY soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.