The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

The Smile that says "Merry Christmas"

Its Christmas Eve and I should be wrapping presents, because I promised I would, however there’s a Xmas Eve Blipfoto to write, so for once it will be short, I promise.

Today’s Journal was going to have the title of “Xmas Time, Mistletoe, Wine, Poverty and Radiotherapy”, but as you can see, it’s now “The Smile that says "Merry Christmas".

I thought of the original title when I read last week that Cliff Richards 1988 Christmas hit was originally a song about Poverty, something our Charity Partners Cash for Kids, Aberlour, Children 1st, A&M Training and TACC know all about from first-hand experience. I also met up with Tammy and Abbie, hence the Radiotherapy element.

"Mistletoe and Wine" was written and was first performed as part of the musical Scraps, later retitled The Little Match Girl and performed as a special TV Christmas musical in 1986.

The Little Match Girl, was based on the Hans Christian Andersen story of the same name and what I found interesting is that in its original context, it’s meant to be a kind of pastiche carol which contains all the usual Christmas clichés and in the musical was sung by well-to-do carol singers, who were completely oblivious and indifferent to the fate of the starving little match girl, despite the words they sing. Therefore, I thought I was going to make a point, which was “as we all enjoy the festive period, let’s remember those less fortunate and let’s thank our Partner Charities for the desperately important work they do, particularly at this time of year”.

The Radiotherapy reference was in relation to Abbie and the thousands of children like her who will spend Christmas in hospital, receiving crucial treatment, which for many means they won’t be surrounded by their families. This is where charities such as Yorkhill Children’s Charities, Archies and Edinburgh Sick Kids Foundation play such a crucial role in making sure Oor Bairns have the best possible Christmas. The same is of course true of CHAS, CLIC Sargent, Debra and The Aila Coull Foundation and I wanted us to think of all the volunteers who give even more at Christmas.

Then I reconsidered and that was all down to Abbie and her wonderful smile.

I met Tammy, Abbie’s Mum at the end of the inaugural Speyside Kiltwalk in May 2012 and I’ve kept in touch with Tammy and her side kick Karen Smith ever since.

I knew they were both signed up to take part again this year, however the night before this year’s Speyside event, I received this message from Tammy.

“Well .... This all feels a bit surreal! Won't be able to do the Kiltwalk tomorrow as I'm sitting in Aberdeen Children's Hospital with my daughter Abbie. She had an operation yesterday to remove a large lump in her neck. We don't know what it is as yet till we get results back. Hoping to get home tomorrow. My son Cameron is still doing it though, Karen has parental responsibility. Cameron was visiting today and sent me a photo he had taken in the hospital lift .... It was of me and him on the Kiltwalk poster, the one where he’s giving me flowers .... Certainly brought a tear to my eye. Will be thinking of you all tomorrow .... Have a great one .. Tammy x”

I hope Tammy doesn’t mind, me sharing snippets of our conversation, however I’ll share two more. This one was she sent the week after they received the results of Abbie’s tests.

“Hi Ian, We had devastating news last Thursday when we heard that Abbie's lump was malignant. Was just absolutely beside myself. Had to go back to RACH this week for a bone scan, a horribly claustrophobic MRI and a CT scan. She was absolutely amazing. So brave. Had to find the strength from somewhere to hold it all together till the results today. Scans clear, no further spread. First prayers are answered. Home tonight, back in Monday for a central line and to discuss treatment. It is the best case scenario under the circumstances. Lots of time in RACH for me .... They've been great. Thanks for thinking of us .... Tammy x”

And the final pry into Tammy’s thoughts and words is this which I received mid October

“Hi Ian, time just fly's. We had our first treatment week a couple of weeks ago. Abbie was very sick, but coped really well considering everything. I felt heartbroken looking at the cytotoxic stuff being pumped into her. It's so hard to accept! The hardest thing just now is her hair loss, she's just devastated, which I knew she would be. I have such admiration for her getting through this, so much happening, so many new experiences.

How was the Angus Kiltwalk? I didn't get onto Facebook to catch up with it. And Kilimanjaro 'is on'!! :)) Hope they're doin ok?! X”

Now there are people reading this who will be sitting thinking “oh my god, how do you cope Tammy” while there are too many that will read this and it may bring back haunting memories and at such a sensitive time of year, I hope I don’t cause further heartache. However, this is why The Kiltwalk is so important to those who walk with us, and those who need us.

Tammy took part in The Kiltwalk 18 months ago to raise money for Oor Bairns and now here she is, in the middle of what will be the most traumatic experience she has ever had to deal with, however she has the support of Archie, Yorkhill and CLIC Sargent, who were all Kiltwalk Partners in 2013.

So how does Tammy cope? How does Abbie cope? Well in the wee small hours, I do not really know what keeps Tammy awake. What I do know from our catch up last week is that they keep as active as possible and do as much as possible.

Abbie is currently in Yorkhill receiving daily Radiotherapy treatment until the 10th January. Therefore, I arranged to meet up at the Kiltwalk office and the team got the day off to a great start by putting together a Kiltwalk Xmas goody bag for Abbie.

Then I whisked them off to Byres Road for one of the best Ice Cream experiences in Glasgow and it didn’t disappoint.

Now we’ve all had ice cream, but this is very special and I wish I’d taken a photograph of Abbie and Tammy’s faces, as they looked at the selection of Christmas available. However, before they sampled, they had to know how to order. So it was "you take two scoops from there, they then put it on the cold stone and then mix it with two fillings of your choice and then, cover it in whatever sauce you desire".

It was while eating ice cream, Tamm was telling me that people travel down from Elgin to visit when they can and that Abbie and her spend a lot of time discovering Glasgow and have taken in many of our landmark sites. So she was delighted when I threw a couple of more places to visit into the mix.

I couldn’t stay long as I had a drive to Leeds ahead of me and had to set off, however the hour I planned had easily doubled and truth be told, I could have sat there all afternoon.

You see as they spoke and told their stories, I sat in awe of their positivity and approach to the situation they find themselves in.

As for Abbie, well she is truly remarkable, but I don’t think she knows that, she’s just taking things in her stride and as long as Mum says it’s OK, she’ll take all the treatment they throw at her, because after all, there’s always ice cream to look forward to.

I also noticed Tammy wears her Kiltwalk band with pride. She said it reminds her of everything the Kiltwalk and our Kiltwalkers do for the charities that help people when they need help they didn’t think they’d ever need.

So Kiltwalkers, this is why the title changed, because I think you’ll agree with me that Abbie’s smile is the best Xmas smile of 2013, so deserves to be recognised as such.

Merry Xmas everyone and Abbie, see you in January for some more ice cream :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.